Cngj Law

Different Types of Alimony 

The final stage of a divorce process is usually a court termination of the marriage and setting the couple free to continue with their lives separately. However, the court may order for one spouse to support the other under given circumstances even after the divorce. Alimony is a court order where one spouse is supposed to give financial assistance or pay the other spouse. There are several grounds under which a judge can order a spouse to give financial assistance to the other spouse such as the marriage duration and circumstances under which one foregone a career for the sake of the family. Alimony can be very challenging as there is no specific ground or calculation to determine the length and the amount one is entitled to. Due to such situations, there are experienced and skilled lawyers who are specialized in alimony matters who help their clients to get rightful pay. In Las Vegas, the Goldstein Law firm helps to give their client a clear understanding of this complex matter and represent them in court.

Here are four types of spousal support 

Alimony is not the same to all couples as its duration and amount awarded may differ due to the determining factors of the case. The following are the different types of alimony as stated by most countries.

  1. Rehabilitative support 

A spouse who lacks job skills or education to enable them to enter the workforce and earn an income to support themselves is the one who is entitled the rehabilitative alimony. The main objective of this alimony is to ensure that the unemployed spouse has enough time and gets financial assistance to become self-reliant. The length/duration of this alimony differs depending on the case and can always be reviewed at the end of the agreed term.

  1. Temporary support 

The court may order support to the spouse who is earning less to maintain certain standards. This support may include; paying rent, mortgages, and other joint bills. A divorce may require the couple to physically separate. Therefore, this type of alimony aims at ensuring that both spouses can support themselves even after the divorce process.

  1. Lump- sum 

This type of alimony is where a court can order one spouse to pay a certain amount of money which can’t be modified later instead of the monthly payments. The court determines the amount that one spouse will pay to the other after the divorce process. The amount of money paid to a spouse will be determined under various factors which are considered by the court

  1. Permanent 

This type of alimony is where the spouse provides continuous support to the recipient spouse till he/she remarries or dies or when the paying spouse also dies. For this type of alimony, different states have specific rules for example, in some states, permanent alimony can be terminated in cases where the recipient spouse cohabitates with a new partner.

Wrapping up

Alimony can be a complicated claim to make. Therefore, you can always consult experienced lawyers who can help to assess your situation and advice you on the whole process.

Comments are closed.